Sarah Certa: Her Own Boss

November 20, 2012

Currents Magazine, Featured

Sarah Certa

I graduated from Winona State University in 2010 with a bachelor’s in English and a handful of grad school applications. I didn’t know what I would do next except that I wanted to write poems and stay at home to raise my then-one-year-old daughter.

In the fall of 2010 I was accepted into the low-residency MFA program at Vermont College of Fine Arts, which has enabled me to be both a full-time graduate student and a stay-at-home mom.

But I needed to generate an income, and after pursuing several odd-jobs I started my own photography business. I’ve always loved making photographs, and offering my services to others allows me to work from home as well as it feeds my incessant impulse to create.

I never sit still for long, though. Currently I also intern for a small poetry press and contribute as an editor for a literary review. It’s important to me to immerse myself in the creative writing community as much as I can.

Because I’m mostly my own boss some days I still feel like I don’t know what I’m doing. But then I remember I’m completing my first full-length book of poems, soon I’ll graduate with an MFA, and I’ve been doing it all with my daughter at my side, watching her grow, inside and out.

Sarah is a regular contributor to the magazine.

, , , , ,

About Winona State University

Founded in 1858, Winona State University is a comprehensive public university with more than 8,500 students. The oldest member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities System, Winona State offers 80 undergraduate, pre-professional, licensure, graduate, and doctorate programs on its three campuses: the original Main Campus in Winona, the West Campus in Winona, and Winona State University-Rochester.

View all posts by Winona State University

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

